Say It With Peaches

Mmmmm, peaches. Image via Wikipedia.

 

Guest Post: By Kathyrn O’Brien.

 

Kathryn O’Brien declares August to be Peach Month at Farm To Fork, and we couldn’t be happier. Peaches are delicious and good for you. And they also make amazing pies, and crisps, and jams, and muffins (among many other things). So be sure to check out your local market for fresh-from-the-tree peaches.

 

Oh, and if you happen to make a pie and you want someone to test it out, feel free to let us know. We’re here to help.

 

Thanks again Kathryn for your post, and for the great salsa recipe.

 


 

Peach Questions Peach Answers
My Family I’m in the same family as the cherry, and plum. I’m actually the same species as the nectarine – a non-identical twin, as the nectarine is really just an non-fuzzy peach.
How To Keep Me Happy Keep me on the countertop for 1-3 days or until I’m ripe, soft to the touch, then move me into the fridge for 3-5 days. I can be frozen for 10-12 months, but my colour may darken. I’m great for canning or making into jam.
When I Grow1 July to September
I’m Full Of… Vitamin A and B Vitamins
What Does That Mean For you? I’ll help your eyes work properly. I’ll help your immune system to keep you from getting sick. And I’m a great source of energy.
What Can You Do With Me? Try me: as is, eaten raw, or as part of a fruit salad. I’m also great in desserts such as crisps, muffins, or cake. I make terrific jams, and am a fantastic addition to salsa.
What You Might Not Know About Me? Most people think that I originated in Persia (I’m actually known around the world as the Persian apple), but new evidence is showing that I actually came from China. Or course, in North America you can’t think of peaches without thinking of Georgia, but I’m also popular in California and South Carolina, British Columbia, and Ontario. In China the peach represents longevity and good luck. The saying “you’re a peach” comes from the tradition of giving someone you like a peach.

 

Peach Salsa:

 

  • 4 small peaches, peeled and diced
  • Juice of 2 limes (approximately 1/4 cup juice)
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons diced red bell pepper
  • 1 tablespoon finely minced jalapeño pepper, or to taste
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chopped cilantro
  • 1 small clove garlic, finely minced
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped red onion or sweet onion

 

Combine ingredients and serve with grilled chicken, fish, or pork.

 

For more information about Peaches, check out Foodland Ontario, FactMonster.com, and StillTasty.com.

 


 

1 In Ontario.

