You Can’t Have July Without Broccoli

For the love of Broccoli. Image via Fir0002/Flagstaffotos and Wikipedia.

 

Guest Post: By Kathyrn O’Brien.

 

As promised in an earlier post, Kathryn O’Brien has returned to announce the first Food Of The Month here at Farm To Fork.

 

And which food is the lucky contestant to become the inaugural Farm To Fork Food Of The Month?

 

Broccoli of course.

 

It’s great cooked or raw. It’s a friend to butter and cheese. And, if you were like me as a child, it became the tiny delicious trees that would be gobbled down whenever I was feeling particularly giant-like. For those of you who know me, you’ll understand that I would often imagine myself to be the biggest giant in all the land. But I digress.

 

On to Kathyrn’s post…

 


 

Broccoli Questions Broccoli Answers
My Family I’m a member of the cabbage family.
How To Keep Me Happy Store me in the fridge, in a plastic bag for 3-5 days, or in the freezer for 12-18 months. Prep: cut into nice sized florets, put into a pot and bring to a quick boil for 3 minutes, then immediately place in cold water, drain off extra water, and put in freezer bags in the freezer.
When I Grow1 June to October
I’m Full Of… Vitamin C and Fibre
What Does That Mean For you? I’ll help protect you against cancer. I’m heart healthy. I help give you a strong immune system which helps you get sick less often.
What Can You Do With Me? Try me: steamed and served as a side veggie, in a stir fry, raw in salads or on veggie platters, in tasty soups.
What You Might Not Know About Me? I was primarily grown in Italy and was brought to France because of a royal wedding. Ah the places love takes you. Sadly I was made infamous when President George W. Bush said: I do not like broccoli. I haven’t liked it since I was a little kid and my mother made me eat it. And I’m the President of the United States and I’m not going to eat any more broccoli. It’s too bad. I guess not everyone can like me – but maybe he never had this amazing salad…

 

Broccoli Salad:

 

  • 1 bunch broccoli, florets only
  • 1/2 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 3 slices bacon, fried and crumbled

 

Dressing:

 

  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sugar

 

Separate florets from broccoli stalks. Save the remainder of the broccoli for another use or freeze for later. Combine salad ingredients; top with dressing mixture. Chill and serve.

 

For more information about Broccoli, check out Foodland Ontario and StillTasty.com.

 


 

1 In Ontario.

